Tag: Gluten

“Free” cakes: 10 recipes without lactose, gluten or eggs – Italian cuisine reinvented by Gordon Ramsay

“Free” cakes: 10 recipes without lactose, gluten or eggs

Any problems with gluten, dairy or eggs? Then this is the right article for you. Because thanks to these cakes “without” you can enjoy a delicious slice of dessert and not give up the taste. In addition to not losing the joy of sharing because the ones we offer are all sweet, good for everyone.
Inside the gallery you will find different types: some without any of the 3 ingredients, others simply only without eggs, gluten or lactose.

Pay attention to the ingredient

Especially for gluten, pay attention to the ingredients: in fact, there are baking powders on the market that contain gluten. Special attention should also be paid to cocoa and icing sugar. Some components of eggs are also often used in these ingredients. Finally, also pay attention to the wording “May contain traces”: in the case of allergic subjects, the possibility of contamination must also be taken into consideration.

What are gluten-free flours?

Are you looking for a gluten free solution? Be careful with the flour: the classic 00 for cakes, made of soft wheat, contains gluten. But there are now various naturally gluten-free flours on the market, and they are:

  • oatmeal
  • Rice flour
  • corn flour
  • Millet flour
  • Quinoa flour
  • buckwheat flour
  • Dried fruit flour
  • Legume flour
  • amaranth flour
  • sorghum flour

How to replace eggs in desserts

Eggs in desserts have the function of acting as a binder and giving structure. Some desserts do not require the use of eggs in the recipe, but if you still want to try making a recipe that includes eggs with a substitution, here are the 4 alternatives available to you:

  • There banana: half a banana is enough to replace an egg. The substitution is a winner because the banana also has a binding function and also helps to keep the dough moist;
  • There potato starch or cornstarch: they also have a high binding power. The proportion, for substitution, is two tablespoons of starch or cornstarch for each egg provided from the recipe.
  • Milk: 50 ml of milk they are enough to replace an egg;
  • The yogurt: one egg can finally be replaced with half a jar of yogurt.

How to replace butter and milk in desserts?

If you have an intolerance problem with dairy products, butter, milk and derivatives – such as cream – will be forgotten by you. Luckily there are many on the market today plant-based alternativesas the margarinethe so-called vegetable “milks”. and also the vegetable cream. And then, let’s not forget the good old guy olive oilperfect for replacing butter.

10 “without” cakes, good for everyone

small guide to gluten free drinking – Italian Cuisine

small guide to gluten free drinking

Are grappa, whiskey, gin and vodka gluten free? And the liqueurs? Which cocktails are safe and which are not? How can a celiac orient himself in the purchase of spirits and spirits? We find out with expert guidance

A glass of grappa after dinner, an amaro, a fresh limoncello in summer, or a gin-based cocktail. Alcoholic beverages (always responsibly and with measure) are a pleasure, even for those suffering from celiac disease: but as in many areas of taste, those who cannot consume gluten must always keep their eyes open. "We have to make a distinction between alcoholic beverages," he explains Laura Diodovich, Project Professional AFC – AiC (Italian Celiac Association) Marche, which specifies: «it is in fact necessary to distinguish between distillates which are always good, and which do not necessarily have to bear the words "gluten free", as long as they are free of flavorings or other substances, and liqueurs. The latter are considered at risk: this means that they are only suitable if they have the wording “gluten-free” . From AiC therefore, you have a traffic light green for grappa, gin, whiskey, tequila, vodka etc., even when they come from raw materials containing gluten. How is it possible? We asked those who deal with spirits for work.

Gluten-free spirits: spirits, 100 per 100 safe

Luca Sala Trade Marketing Manager of Meregalli Spirits, a leading company in Italy in the distribution of national and international wines and spirits, explains how the gluten contained in the raw material of gin, whiskey, vodka, obtained from cereals, does not pass into the distillate because: «distillation serves precisely to separate the heavy parts from the light ones, leaving all residues as production waste. Also what is called "head and tail" or the initial and final part of distillate (where a trace could be found) is thrown away. Particular attention should be paid to Gin because some flavors are made by maceration, so they may have gluten . After all, the list of aromas that may contain gluten “is endless, but it's not just aromas that are at risk. To be sure of a gluten-free product, you should work in an aseptic laboratory, an environment that almost no one has in the distillery or liqueur factory .

More explanations about Gin come from the distillery Bunches of Altavilla: «Gin, if obtained through the distillation process, is to be considered gluten-free. In particular, Gin Mazzetti, being “London Dry”, is obtained precisely from the distillation of a macerate with traditional stills, which makes it gluten free . Absolutely sure is grappa, as the Mazzetti d'Altavilla experts demonstrate: "First of all, since it is a distillate that uses pomace as a raw material, therefore the skins and seeds (called grape seeds) of the grapes, gluten is not contained in the raw material . Secondly, the same distillation process foreseen in direct steam stills means that the final distillate, resulting from the condensation of the steam coming from the stills, cannot – even if there is a presence – acquire any trace of gluten through this processing method " .

Liquors without contamination

More complicated is the discussion with regard to liqueurs: contamination, explains Luca Sala di Meregalli, «occurs by presence in the raw material or by contamination by external agents. The same goes for the aseptic laboratory . To be sure of the absence of contamination, it is necessary to have certifications available. This is what they do in Mazzetti d’Altavilla: "our liqueurs are all consumable even by those with gluten intolerances. Not being distilled in purity, in this case the certification that the raw material does not contain gluten and does not foresee the possibility of contamination with materials containing gluten. For blended products, it would be good to indicate the gluten-free symbol on the bottle or on the packaging to ensure its consumability by those with intolerances. We are gearing up for this! " A brand or a legible wording on the label would certainly make life easier for those suffering from celiac disease, at least as regards the choice of what to drink.

Gluten Free Lasagna Recipe – Italian Cuisine – Italian Cuisine

Gluten Free Lasagna Recipe - Italian Cuisine

  • 450 g buckwheat flour
  • 50 g corn starch
  • 4 yolks
  • 3 eggs
  • salt
  • 1 Kg ragù (prepared as for classic lasagna)
  • butter
  • Parmigiano Reggiano Dop
  • 1 L milk
  • 40 g corn starch
  • nutmeg
  • salt

Knead flour and starch with yolks, eggs, 100 g of water and a pinch of salt. Collect the ball dough and let it rest covered for 1 hour.
Roll out the dough with a rolling pin, obtaining a 2 mm thick sheet; cut it into rectangles (25 × 10 cm), cook them in boiling salted water for 1 minute, then dip them in cold water and pat them on kitchen paper.

dissolve corn starch in 200 g of milk. Bring the remaining milk to a boil; add the diluted starch and bring to the boil, then flavor with salt and nutmeg.
compose lasagna and cook it as in the classic version.

Proudly powered by WordPress

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Click here to read more information about data collection for ads personalisation

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Read more about data collection for ads personalisation our in our Cookies Policy page